EYE International - your Dutch film connection
Jonas Smulders Shooting Star 2018

REDBAD: Banking on success

REDBAD: Banking on success One of the most eagerly awaited Dutch films of 2018 is Redbad, the histo... - Read more

Orwa Nyrabia, Artistic Director IDFA

Orwa Nyrabia, Artistic Director IDFA Earlier this year Syrian producer Orwa Nyrabia was named Artistic Direct... - Read more

Hailing a Dutch genius - Van Warmerdam

Hailing a Dutch genius - Van Warmerdam Jaap Guldemond, Director of Exhibitions at EYE, has long been aware of t... - Read more

Ani-Mates: Dutch films at Annecy

Ani-Mates: Dutch films at Annecy The renaissance of Dutch animation continues with the selection of three... - Read more

Jonas Smulders, Dutch Shooting Star

December 19, 2017

Dutch actor Jonas Smulders has been selected as the Netherlands' Shooting Star for the 68th Berlin International Film Festival (February 15-25, 2018). Jonas is acknowledged as one of the ten most gifted European performers by a jury of acclaimed industry experts for the 21st edition of the Shooting Stars event.

Jonas Smulders (1994) has received Best Actor Golden Calf in 2015 for his lead role in Mees Peijnenburg’s television drama WE WILL NEVER BE ROYALS. The same year he was awarded the Spotlight European Breakthrough Award at Kilkenny’s Subtitle fest. Subsequently, he appeared in the leading role of the film BROTHERS directed by Bram Schouw in 2017 and most recently, he starred in OPEN SEAS by Michiel van Erp and Shady El-Hamus’s short film, BEING THERE for which Jonas also wrote the script.
During the four-day Shooting Star event in Berlin (February 16-19), Jonas and the nine other actors will be presented to the film industry, public and international press. They will take part in a tailor-made program of profile-raising workshops and meetings with influential members of the International Casting Directors Network (ICDN), filmmakers and other important industry players, as well as interviews and photo-shoots with international media.

The prestigious Shooting Star platform is organized by European Film Promotion and provides the actors with the significant and timely exposure their emerging talent deserves. Being a European Shooting Star puts them in the first row of young performers to be considered for international productions. The event culminates in the awards ceremony at the Berlinale Palast on Monday February 19, where each talent will be presented with the European Shooting Stars Award.

Previous Dutch Shooting Stars include Hannah Hoekstra (The Fury), Reinout Scholten van Aschat (Beyond Sleep), Abbey Hoes (Nena), Marwan Kenzari (Wolf), Sylvia Hoeks (The Girl and Death), Lotte Verbeek (Nothing Personal), Halina Reijn (Black Book) and Fedja van Huêt (Character).

The nine other European Shooting Stars of 2018 are: Matilda de Angelis (Italy), Alba August (Sweden), Michaela Coel (UK), Eili Harboe (Norway), Irakli Kvirikadze (Georgia), Franz Rogowski (Germany), Matteo Simoni (Belgium), Réka Tenki (Hungary), Luna Wedler (Switzerland).

The 2018 Shooting Stars jury members are: award-winning Dutch director Mijke de Jong (LAYLA M. – this year’s Oscar entry from The Netherlands), former Producer On The Move Ankica Juric Tilic (QUIT STARING AT MY PLATE – this year’s Oscar entry from Croatia), Austrian casting director Nicole Schmied (COLD HELL), former European Shooting Star Eduardo Noriega (OPEN YOUR EYES), and the Norwegian arts editor, film critic and member of the Norwegian Oscar committee Mode Steinkjer (Dagsavisen).

print this page to pdf